Files failing to transfer to a new owner

If some files aren't transferred when you try to assign a new owner, read this article to learn why!

Note that Folgo only automates what you can manually do a file at a time with Google Drive.

If you are trying to transfer ownership of files you can't transfer, Folgo won't be able to perform your request.

For Gmail accounts

First of all, you need to own the file to transfer its ownership. By default, you own any file you create or upload to Google Drive.

Then, you can transfer the following file types:

  • Google Docs

  • Google Sheets

  • Google Slides

  • Google Drawings

  • Google My Maps

  • Folders

In order to protect your files, Google Drive restricts ownership transfer between Gmail accounts and Workspace accounts. With a Gmail account, you can only transfer ownership to another Gmail account, so:

  • From Gmail accounts to Gmail accounts: Yes

  • From Gmail accounts to Google Workspace account: No

Learn about our alternative solution: Move to Shared Drive.
Move to Shared Drive New is a great way for teams (internal & external) to move or transfer files in Google Drive.

For Google Workspace account

Because you're using your work or school account, you can transfer all types of Drive files.

Therefore, in order to protect your files, Google Drive only allows you to transfer files to another Google Workspace account from your work or your school.

To summarize:

  • From Google Workspace account to Google Workspace account: Yes

  • From Google Workspace account to Gmail accounts: No

You can visit this article for further information about files sharing.

How to circumvent the ownership transfer restrictions

If you want to migrate files between a Gmail account and a Google workspace account or two Google Workspace accounts from different organizations, you cannot use the "transfer ownership" feature of Folgo. Instead, you can :

  1. Share the folder between the two accounts.

  2. Connect to the receiving account.

  3. Use Folgo's Copy feature to copy the shared Folder.

  4. (Optional) Undo the folder's share.

You now have a copy of the folder on the second account.

Learn about our alternative solution: Move to Shared Drive.
Move to Shared Drive New is a great way for teams (internal & external) to move or transfer files in Google Drive.